Events - What's on in Kurow and the Waitaki Valley?

Keep up to date with what's on in Kurow, what's on in Otematata and the Waitaki Valley from Duntroon to Omarama. Click Calendar View for a quick glance at what's happening month by month. Community events advertised in the Kurow and Waitaki Valley local paper the 'Bugle' qualify for space on this page. Please contact the Editor on 436 0950 or send a message through our contacts page Contact Us. For weekly clubs and sports go to Sports & Clubs. For events specific to Oamaru please visit the Oamaru I-Site and Tourism Waitaki website.

Switch to Calendar View?

  • Tuesday 26 August

  • To be held at the Kurow Memorial Hall at 7pm. Read on for information about nominating a new member to the Trust
    Date: Tue 26 Aug 2014
  • Friday 29 August

  • Forms are available from the Kurow Information Centre or via the Waitaki District Council website.
    Date: Fri 29 Aug 2014
  • Saturday 30 August

  • 7pm at Kurow Hall. The Bacchanals are thrilled to announce that they will be visiting Kurow with their acclaimed production of Dean Parker’s Once We Built A Tower: The Construction of the Waitaki Dam and the Welfare State 1928-39.
    Date: Sat 30 Aug 2014
  • Bar Opens at 6pm, show at 7.30pm. $60 pp. This local fundraiser is in memory of Ronnie Munro. Show includes 2 course meal, 2 hours of non-stop interactive entertainment with DJ to follow. Tickets from Kurow Museum, Gifts & More Kurow, West Rd Shop & Holiday Park Otematata, Hot Tubs Omarama, Top Hut Twizel
    Date: Sat 30 Aug 2014
  • Wednesday 3 September

  • Free Fundraising Presentation in Dunedin on 3 September 2014. Come along to the Dunedin Library on Moray Place from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. to learn the basics of fundraising for your non-profit or community group. RSVP for your place now to info@finz.org.nz.
    Date: Wed 03 Sep 2014
    Time: 03:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday 6 September

  • To be held in the clubrooms. All welcome.
    Date: Sat 06 Sep 2014
  • Thursday 11 September

  • It's time to start talking about our struggles so we can help each other through. Suicide Prevention Campaigner Mike King from the Key to Life Charitable Trust gets straight up about his battle...
    Date: Thu 11 Sep 2014
  • Saturday 20 September

  • Tickets on sale at Liquorland Oamaru, Sports Central Brewhouse, Northstar and the Brydone Hotel. Featuring Justine Smith tickets are $50
    Date: Sat 20 Sep 2014
  • Sunday 21 September

  • Waimate A & P Showground. Free admission. Contact Maureen 027 249 6525 for more information.
    Date: Sun 21 Sep 2014
  • Saturday 27 September

  • To be held at St Patricks Hall, Cameron Street, Waimate at 8pm. Tickets $20. Contact, Gavin or Jan 03 6897136
    Date: Sat 27 Sep 2014
  • Waimate A & P Showground. Free admission. Contact Fiona 03 689 2248 for more information.
    Date: Sat 27 Sep 2014 - Sun 28 Sep 2014
  • Friday 10 October

  • Top shearers & wool handlers in action at the Waimate Stadium. Speed shear – Friday from 7pm. Saturday’s programme from 7.30am. Contact: Warren 689 1157/02748928.
    Date: Fri 10 Oct 2014 - Sat 11 Oct 2014
  • Saturday 18 October

  • The Rainbow Colour Run will take place at the Oamaru Racecourse. Start time at 11am. Click header for more details.
    Date: Sat 18 Oct 2014
  • Friday 24 October

  • Waimate 50 series of gravel & tarmac sprints around the Waimate district. Friday night opening events, Saturday time races, evening entertainment. Contact Rob: 03 689 7499
    Date: Fri 24 Oct 2014 - Sun 26 Oct 2014
  • Saturday 25 October

  • Held over Labour weekend at the Museum’s machinery hall, Innes Street. Saturday–Monday 10am–4pm daily. Tuesday-Thursday 11am-4pm daily. White elephant stall, cakes and more. Contact: Museum 03 689 7832 for more information.
    Date: Sat 25 Oct 2014 - Thu 30 Oct 2014
  • The Aviemore Classic trailer yacht regatta has been run for 25 years on Lake Aviemore in the Waitaki Valley. It is hosted by the Timaru Yacht and Power Boat Club.
    Date: Sat 25 Oct 2014 - Sun 26 Oct 2014
  • Sunday 2 November

  • 10am – 4pm. Contact Jo Sutherland, 03 689 6035. (more details to come)
    Date: Sun 02 Nov 2014
  • Saturday 8 November

  • An evening of fun with fireworks and a music talent show. Contact: Ann 03 689 1088
    Date: Sat 08 Nov 2014
  • Wednesday 12 November

  • The 2014 theme is transportation.
    Date: Wed 12 Nov 2014 - Sun 16 Nov 2014
  • Saturday 22 November

  • Waimate Showground from 7.30am. Event schedule & entry form to be advised but will most likely be available at the Waimate Information Centre, Farmlands, PGG and at www.scshow.co.nz. Contact the Secretary, 0275237878.
    Date: Sat 22 Nov 2014
  • Saturday 29 November

  • The Waitaki District Santa Parade will take place in Oamaru Saturday 2 November 2014. More event information to follow at a later date. Contact Anton Roswell anton@thebigo.co.nz for more information.
    Date: Sat 29 Nov 2014
  • Saturday 13 December

  • Celebrating Waimate Strawberries with a one day festival of free family entertainment including stalls & competitions. Seddon Square, Queen Street, Waimate. Fare starts at 10.30 followed by a Santa Parade at 11am. www.waimatestrawberryfare.co.nz
    Date: Sat 13 Dec 2014
  • Sunday 14 December

  • Annual Rodeo at Waimate Showground. Great fun for the family. Contact: Craig 03 689 6220.
    Date: Sun 14 Dec 2014
  • Saturday 27 December

  • The Kurow Festival Market Day will take place on the main street in Kurow on Saturday 27th December 2014. Phone 03 436 0950 for more information.
    Date: Sat 27 Dec 2014
  • Wednesday 4 March 2015

  • A reunion is planned in Otematata for the Hydro construction families and businesses, celebrating 50 years since Benmore Powerstation and Dam commissioning. To register your interest contact Vicky 03 438 7855.
    Date: Wed 04 Mar 2015