Events - What's on in Kurow and the Waitaki Valley?

Keep up to date with what's on in Kurow, what's on in Otematata and the Waitaki Valley from Duntroon to Omarama. Click Calendar View for a quick glance at what's happening month by month. Community events advertised in the Kurow and Waitaki Valley local paper the 'Bugle' qualify for space on this page. Please contact the Editor on 436 0950 or send a message through our contacts page Contact Us. For weekly clubs and sports go to Sports & Clubs. For events specific to Oamaru please visit the Oamaru I-Site and Tourism Waitaki website.

Switch to Calendar View?

  • Tuesday 1 December

  • At the Duntroon Garage. Come and see why Mahindra is quickly earning its place on many farms in New Zealand. Queries phone Duntroon Garage on 03 431 2730 or Tom on 027 4466 945
    Date: Tue 01 Dec 2015
    Time: 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Thursday 3 December

  • All welcome for a night of laughter and fitness. Meet other young folk from around the area. Teams are made up on the night. For more info contact Ross on 4360 850
    Date: Thu 03 Dec 2015
  • Saturday 5 December

  • Bargains galore at 30 Bowen Street. You'll never guess what's for sale...
    Date: Sat 05 Dec 2015
    Time: 08:00 AM - 01:00 PM
  • About 350 to 400 are expected to enter this race, organised and managed by Chris Thomas at Aoraki Special Events, with funds going to Omarama School. Contact: Pip Smith, Omarama Friends of School secretary.Phone: 03 438 9466, 027 644 5564 or email: or view
    Date: Sat 05 Dec 2015
  • Sunday 6 December

  • At the Waitaki Rod and Gun Club. All under five year olds and their families are invited to attend. Santa will make an appearance at 3pm with a small gift for under fives. Afternoon tea will be provided. Please phone Cassie to register your pre-schoolers so Santa knows to expect them.
    Date: Sun 06 Dec 2015
  • Tuesday 8 December

  • In the Clubrooms- all welcome
    Date: Tue 08 Dec 2015
  • Thursday 10 December

  • In the West Wing of the Kurow Information Centre. Contact Carron on 027 282 0615 or 4360 950 if you wish to attend
    Date: Thu 10 Dec 2015
  • Saturday 12 December

  • Celebrating Waimate Strawberries with a one day festival of free family entertainment including stalls and competitions. Seddon Square, Queen Street, Waimate. Fare starts at 10.30 followed by a Santa Parade at 11am.
    Date: Sat 12 Dec 2015
  • Campaign against Bullying concluding with Pasifika Christmas Carol event. March from KFC to the Oamaru Gardens. Lunch will be provided. Call 0210 823 9741 for more information
    Date: Sat 12 Dec 2015
    Time: 11:00 AM - 02:00 PM
  • Tuesday 15 December

  • It is that time of year when Kurow Trails get together to tidy up our main attraction. Can you make the time to join in? All fitness levels catered for. Contact Karen on 021 190 8875 for more details. All help appreciated
    Date: Tue 15 Dec 2015
  • Sunday 20 December

  • Community Carol Service St Martins Duntroon with the Waitaki Valley Choir. Sunday 20th December at 7pm followed with Christmas goodies. All welcome
    Date: Sun 20 Dec 2015
  • Thursday 24 December

  • Santa will be in store from 1pm to 2pm, and the BBQ will be running from Noon to 2pm. Come and have lunch and refreshments on us...
    Date: Thu 24 Dec 2015
  • Monday 28 December

  • Starting at 11.00 at the Otematata Domain. Match review at the conclusion of the game at the District Club After losing the last 2 years in a row the locals are in training already! If you are a bach owner and wish to play please email Rob at .
    Date: Mon 28 Dec 2015
  • Friday 1 January 2016

  • A fantastic event held on the Main Street. Stalls are $40.00 If you would like to be part of this please contact Carron on 027 282 0615 or email
    Date: Fri 01 Jan 2016
    Time: 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM
  • Friday 4 March 2016

  • A reunion is planned in Kurow For people who have lived and worked in the area or attended the school...
    Date: Fri 04 Mar 2016 - Sun 6 Mar 2016
  • Saturday 19 March 2016

  • Cherie is running the Alps to Ocean to raise funds and awareness for the work the Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand do. Find her on give/
    Date: Sat 19 Mar 2016 - Sat 26 Mar 2016